Together, we do the community justice.
Apply for Help
Solicite Ayuda

Donate Online


Advocates for Basic Legal Equality on Facebook Advocates for Basic Legal Equality on Twitter Advocates for Basic Legal Equality on LinkedIn

LAWO on Facebook LAWO on Twitter LAWO on LinkedIn


People are doing great things in northwest Ohio to support equal justice. Please help us recognize them for their hard work and commitment to helping others with an Access to Justice Award.

Advocates for Basic Legal Equality, Inc. (ABLE), Legal Aid of Western Ohio, Inc. (LAWO), and the Toledo Bar Association (TBA) Pro Bono Legal Services Program want to publicly recognize extraordinary service in the public interest by attorneys and community leaders in northwest Ohio.

The awards will be presented at the Access to Justice Awards Dinner on Wednesday, April 20, 2016. Attendees include colleagues of individual recipients, as well as supporters of legal services in northwest Ohio. The Access to Justice Awards Steering Committee is looking for nominations for this year's awards.

>> Download the 2016 Access to Justice Award Nomination Form (PDF)

Nominations can be submitted by email or in hard copy format. Please review the award criteria and complete the nomination form along with a letter of nomination to be received no later than Friday, February 12, 2016.

wil-haygood-webFeatured Speaker: Wil Haygood

On the heels of authoring the best-selling book The Butler—and helping produce the award-winning film of the same name—Wil Haygood is capturing the nation's attention with his just released book, Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination That Changed America. In this story, Haygood presents a compelling examination of the first African American Supreme Court Justice and how he singlehandedly helped shape the 20th century. A trusted voice known for his fascinating insights on cultural changes in American history, Haygood is recognized for bringing attention to those who have made great contributions to society, yet often go unnoticed. Offering a captivating look at the fluid nature of humanity and culture, he presents a unique, informed perspective on issues spanning race, law, and education. Haygood is currently the Karl and Helen Wiepking Visiting Distinguished Professor at his alma mater, Miami University.

Previous speakers for this event also have included Jeannette Walls, author of The Glass Castle; Lilly Ledbetter, author and equal rights advocate; Bryan Stevenson, founder and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative; Charles Ogletree, author and law professor; Patricia J. Williams, law professor and writer of Diary of a Mad Law Professor; Ray Suarez, author, journalist, and senior correspondent for PBS' The News Hour; Morris Dees, founder and chief trial counsel for the Southern Poverty Law Center; Kerry Kennedy, author and advocate for human rights; David Shipler, a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and expert on poverty in America; author and journalist Juan Williams; Deval Patrick; author Gregory H. Williams; Raul Yzaguirre, President of the National Council of La Raza; and legal and political commentator Susan Estrich.